---

Aug. 29th, 2010 12:30 am
yuuago: (SuFin - Stay with me)
For the past week, nothing much has been going on, and so I have had little to write about. When I was living in Saskatoon, one day was pretty much the same as the other, and yet I felt I still had a lot of things to write about. Maybe it's a side-effect of this place. I don't have any time to think or to do the things I care about, so in turn I have -- nothing. Well, nothing much.

Originally we had planned to go down to Stoon earlier, but plans changed. The current plan is that we will be going down to get my stuff next week, over the weekend. So we'll get it, and bring it back here, and then somehow I will have to find a way to fit all of my personal belongings into my room. That'll be, er, challenging.

So many things are frustrating right now, and I'm not sure I want to talk about it. Mostly it's just the whole living with parents thing. Ugh, I want to get out of here. I do love my parents, really, but I've come to realise that my mother is the kind of person that I would not want to associate with if I was not related to her. In many ways, she is not... not a good person. Being around her is almost toxic sometimes.

In other (and far better) news, I made blueberry cinnamon crumble muffins today and they were extremely delicious.

Photo because I can )

The recipe is here if anyone wants it. I doubled it, and the result was twelve.

I have been trying to keep up with my indexing but I've been slacking a bit. Been trying to keep up with writing fanfiction, too, and though I have been able to get my daily drabbles done, I haven't really had any drive to do anything substantial in a very long time now. But when I am able to sit down and write properly (and gods know when that will be) I will do it. I look forward to it.
yuuago: (SuFin - Stay with me)
This week has been a whirlwind and it isn't even over yet.

☆ As I mentioned to several people previously, it was decided recently that I would be moving back in with my parents. Yeah, it's a little sudden, but we never do anything halfway in this household. I'll probably be here for a year, maybe two. There's good money to be made in this town. Hopefully it will be worth having to be driven crazy by my parents. Anyway, my new address is here, for those who need it.

☆ Meanwhile, mum keeps pushing me to apply for jobs right away. It's frustrating, because I only just got here and I don't even have my resume draft here, nor clothes to wear to interviews or anything like that. I wish she would just wait until I was finished moving everything from Saskatoon to here. Not to mention that she keeps trying to push me toward office jobs and I just, argh. Definitely not the kind of thing I'm interested in, though I will be applying to some of that anyway. Ah, well. We'll just see how everything goes. :|

☆ I've been having difficulty getting anything personal done. Trying to find the time to write personal letters, let alone the drive to do it, has become very difficult. And let's not get into the whole studying French thing, argh. Hopefully by the time the move is over, things will be settled down, and I won't be constantly bothered by people. Still, I've been trying to make time to write every day, though the stuff I produce tends to be rather lacking in quality lately.

☆ I've begun restructuring the Nordic Index. It's going slowly because of the craziness of my current situation, but I think if I do a bit every day it won't take too long to get through it. Not gonna' lie, I'll be pretty happy when the restructuring is finished - not just because it will be complete, but also because it will be much easier to take a look at KM numbers and come to general conclusions regarding trends in character popularity etc. I'm a huge nerd for that kind of thing.
yuuago: (Denmark - Coffee)
I couldn't sleep at all last night. I rolled around for a while, and after a few hours of that, gave up on sleep altogether. I was awake when the sun rose, and after thinking about what to do with my morning, I decided to go down to the river to take photos of graffiti.

Man, there was way more new stuff than I expected. Shooting these was awesome. As usual, I risked life and limb climbing over enormous rocks to get at them. Not gonna' lie, doing that probably is a little dangerous -- it's pretty damn easy to slip and get one's head bashed in. Fortunately I remembered to wear proper shoes this time. Anyway, let's go.

Note: Very graphic heavy )

There are probably a lot more down in there that I didn't even see. But by the time I got down to there, my legs felt like jelly and it was way too warm out and I'd had enough. But I might go down again in a month's time, just to see if there's anything new. We'll see.
yuuago: (EstFinHun - Finno-Ugric fellowship)
☆ I finally finished reading the Kalevala. Excellent; it's not often nowadays that I pick up long books, so I'm glad I got through it without taking forever. Even better, I finished it before Bice, which means I won our little race. Clearly, tortoises do not only win in fables. ;)

☆ Fringe is on. As much as I complain about the location of my apartment, there is one time that I love it, and that is during Fringe. It's so close, because the street is right there, shut down for it. I can hear the music from the window, and it's almost intoxicating, that atmosphere. I don't mind the noise at night, because there's so much joy in it.

☆ Speaking of Fringe, I probably should really enjoy it properly this time. Last two years, I never really thoroughly spent time there, didn't even actually go to any plays. I should change that this year. I should Do Something. I've spent too much time sitting inside recently - though part of that is because it has been too hot for me to go out.

☆ I have been doing daily writing recently (except for today, when I tried drawing something). Just drabbles and quick things; not exactly anything with quality. Still, it feels good to be writing again. I'd been going through a period where I hardly wrote at all, so now doing something makes me feel better, a bit. Maybe I'll even come up with something good enough to clean up and post somewhere.

☆ It's so hot that I expect I won't be sleeping much tonight. Argh, this drives me nuts. I've been going to bed far too late recently. I need to fix that, but it's difficult if it's so warm that I can't get to sleep!

☆ I still haven't written out those letters. But I will soon, I promise! I'm just lazy distracted as of late.
yuuago: (BlackJack - Coffee)
Even though it feels like I haven't been doing anything lately, I have; it's just that I haven't. Sort of. In a way.

I've been up down up down lately. Kind of going around in circles with my mood. Sometimes I wake up feeling horrible, other times not so much.

My mood today was bad. Need to work on that. But on the upside I got all the boring adult things done that I needed to do. I got my keys cut, so that's one thing to cross off the year's to-do list. This way if I break my housekey in the door again, at least I will have a spare on hand.

Went to the bank. Found out that I have more money in savings than I thought I did. It slipped my mind somehow. I hope by next summer I'll have 3K in there. Enough to get me to Finland, have spending money, and have some nice padding in case of emergency. Good. Well, I'm just over 2/3rds of the way there.

Working on my knitting. I'm happy with it. It's really awesome to be able to try something new and realize that hey, it's not as difficult as I thought it would be. I'd never tried knitting in round or purl stitching before, but now it looks like I can do it. And if I keep up with it, then maybe this stocking cap won't take forever to finish. After this, I want to try something more complicated, maybe mittens or armwarmers or something. We'll see. It seems like it would be harder, but maybe I'm just underestimating myself.

There is some kind of festival going on right now. Not sure if I want to go. Maybe I will. Maybe. And then Fringe is coming up. I'll probably want to see a few plays, or at least take in the sights, but we'll see. We'll see. I haven't even checked out the program yet, so I have no idea what's playing. We'll see.
yuuago: (SuFin - Morning)
☆ It's been storming so damn much lately, I don't even get it. Not just storming, but flooding as a result of the storms. It's pretty damn bad in some parts of Saskatoon; same for elsewhere in the province - man, when the Globe and Mail bothers to report on it, that's when you know that the situation is bad. There have also been problems with tornadoes touching down in Saskatchewan. It's all kind of freaky, and it really makes me miss Fort McMurray's extreme-but-stable weather. What the hell is going on, Saskatchewan?

☆ School is driving me insane. I've been kind of distant from a lot of people, I think, and that's the reason. Haa, what else is new, really. Same old thing, that.

☆ On the upside, doing some reading has at least been giving me some time to calm down. It's especially good that I can talk about it with Bice, even though usually it's just "what part are you at, and wasn't such-and-such scene awesome", haa. I don't know, it's just.. it's good.

☆ I've started working on French again. Just Pimsleur audio lessons, usually while indexing or doing something else. I don't know if I'll actually learn anything from it; I'm not much of an audio learner, and the lessons I've been going through so far are quite basic. On the other hand, they have helped me realize that my French pronunciation is absolutely awful, and always has been. My audio comprehension has never been good, either... so maybe it will help a bit, despite not being my preferred medium. We'll see.

☆ My two teams are out of the World Cup and now I have absolutely no idea who to cheer for. :| I guess I'll go with Uruguay, because that's who Odie's cheering for, but I don't know if they can do it, man.

Nordic Indexing is going well. Parts 1-13 are done; now going through past-parts, which is a bit of a headache. It goes quickly, though. I like looking at the numbers and seeing changes in trends. It's kind of cool to see the rough change in popularity of some characters over time, and discrepancies in how many prompts a character receives compared to how many fills are written involving that character. For example, Sweden has more filled-requests than Denmark does, and a higher percentage of filled requests/total (39% vs 31%). But Denmark became more popular than Sweden in a relatively short period of time, despite having very little page-time; he has more requests, and is more frequently requested. On the other hand, Finland has fewer prompts and fills than either of those two, but has a higher percentage of filled requests (42%).

... Though this doesn't account for change in trends over time, just overall numbers. And I don't know what it might mean aside from "Nordics fans really, really like Denmark".
yuuago: (Estonia - Our song)
Things have been an enormous clusterfuck lately. Crazy weather. Thunderstorms everywhere! I have no idea what's going on. My own life hasn't been making much sense either.

On a brighter note, I finally started reading the Kalevala. It had been collecting dust on my bookshelf for six months, but I was talking with Bice about it lately, and it turns out we both have the same translation/edition. So, we're going to kind of... read it together, I guess! Should be fun. At the very least, it'll be getting me reading something that requires more brain power to comprehend than Black Jack and Stephen King novels. Not that there's anything wrong with that stuff, but er, I should probably read somethin' else for a while.

So, I started it tonight. I'm only two cantos in, but I really like it so far. This translation is nice, not heavy or thick; it's good for leisure-reading.

Aside from thatttt nothing of note, except that I did get out to take some graffiti photos the other day! Unfortunately, while I did remember bug spray, I forgot to wear proper shoes, so I wasn't able to get any of the river-rocks. However, there was enough in other locations, so there we go. I actually did neglect to get photos of some - I'll have to go back later.

Graffiti in Saskatoon: here we go again )

Aaaand that's it for now - until I remember to go out again, this time with bug spray, camera, and proper footwear.
yuuago: (Norway - Hush)
When I stepped out this evening I realized I had mail. A surprise. Hadn't had anything in my mailbox for days, but there it was, a little package from Minni. Ahhh, salmiakki, just the treat I was needing. Haa, my parents tease me for liking it - they think it's awful stuff - but it's just an, er, acquired taste, I guess. In any case, finding that package, man, it did me good. I'm so lucky to know her.

I've been kind of down in the dumps these past few days, and that combined with not having much going on has resulted in me not having anything to write about. After receiving the package I went out and took a good long walk down by the river. I think it did me some good, but who's to know, really.

I took my camera with me when I went out, but I neglected to wear proper shoes, so I wasn't able to get down under the bridge to take any graffiti pictures, alas. I did manage to make my way in enough to get one photo, though.

Empower each other )

Maybe next time I'll wear proper shoes so I can scramble around the river rocks taking pictures. We'll see.

Other than that, nothing going on... I've been doing some reading. Just finished up another volume of Black Jack; going to take a break from that and read some Pratchett for a while instead. So, I'm working my way through Wee Free Men now. Been slowly updating the Nordex (parts 10-12 covered, currently working on 9). Haven't been writing at all - I've been trying, but lately it's been absolutely no go. I sit down, I get my pen, I open up my notebook, and... not even a damn sentence. Geeze. I've been like this for a while, and it's just so frustrating. Mentioned to a friend, maybe I should try writing something entirely different from what I usually would. Not sure, but... maybe I will.
yuuago: (Norway - Tea)
First - greetings to the new people I have added. I don't have a fancy "get to know me" entry like some people do (when did those become en vogue, anyway?), but regardless, everything one needs to know about me is in my profile. I've been busy recently so I might be incommunicado here and there. Now, moving on....

I went for a walk this evening. Though it was getting late, the sun had not yet begun to set. It's clearly summer now, then. While I was out I took a look at the gardens... I found it strange how different the gardens are here in comparison to back home.

Cut for plant talk )

Spent much of this evening reading. I should do it more often; I've been very stressed out recently (again), and it helps me calm down. I've been making my way through Anderson's fairy tales, and soon after that I'll probably tackle another volume or two of Black Jack, or possibly Persepolis, as I now own both volumes. I studied Persepolis in a class a few years ago - it was on comics as literature - but we only did the second volume for reasons that I can't quite recall. Maybe just because my professor was a bit crazy. Anyway, I never got the chance to read the first volume until now.

On the fandom front, been keeping up with indexing, but haven't been writing. I've been trying, but my heart just hasn't been into it these past few days; I can barely get a sentence out. Well, I'll let it be for now, I suppose. I've other things to be thinking about. I might try editing some old things, though; polishing them up a bit. We'll see.

While I was out I came across a poster that caught my attention - an advertisement for the local pagan midsummer festival. I was surprised and pleased - tempted at first to look into it, but then decided, no. It would be awkward for me, and besides, it costs money to go - money I should save for other things. Best let it be. I'll celebrate Solstice by myself in my usual way (possibly with the new addition of firecrackers). Still, it does make me feel good, knowing that the community here is large enough that something like that can exist. In the other places I've lived, there weren't really enough people to support something like that. So, it's nice knowing I'm not alone.
yuuago: (Moomin - Together)
I had a bad day today. But instead of talking about that, I'm going to mention some of the things that have happened in the last few days that did NOT suck, because positive thinking is awesome. ... Gets a bit sappy at the end, but ah, well!

♫ When I was walking to the bus stop, I saw that someone had written "Good morning" in chalk on the sidewalk just outside my house. Cute! And it made me smile, a bit.

When the Sixth Day Comes was updated. It's still not finished, but at least I had something to read today! Ahhh <3 Oh, Nor.

♫ The trees along Broadway are in bloom! Purple flowers and yellow flowers and - best of all - chokecherry blossoms! My favourite. <3 So lovely and fragrant and seeing it all lifts my heart. I'll have to take my camera and get some pictures while everything is still looking nice.

♫ I noticed that someone did stencil graffiti of a pair of Storm Troopers outside the library, in a subtle, out of the way corner. I love it when I come across stuff like that.

♫ Most important of all: I realized that I really do have some amazing friends. Some of 'em, we don't get to talk all that much, but when we do it's great. And some of 'em, I complain so much, but they don't even tell me to stop. And when times are good, then times are really good. So, some of 'em, they're very close to my heart. I'm glad that I came to know these people. Haa, but some of them don't even know I feel this way, I think! <3

I do feel a bit better now, in spite of all the problems I'm having right now.

Yayyyyyyyy

Apr. 15th, 2010 11:21 pm
yuuago: (Omgwhee - Happy Snake)
MAN. The past week or so has been so goddamn busy, I don't even. And yet, I feel like I was doing nothing, 'cause all I was doing was homework. So so so boring. :| BUT. NOW I'M DONE. AND MY EXAM IS DONE. SO. THAT'S THAT. Though there's still other stuff that needs to be done but uh, I don't even care, man.

Now I'm just happy and relaxed and maybe slightly tipsy and just so so so so happy. Maybe it's not just because of school being less stressful from now on (I think), maybe it's got a lot to do with spring coming. When I was out walking today, I saw shoots sprouting up in someone's flower garden, and I noticed that if you look real close at the bushes alongside the sidewalks, you can see buds on them. Yesssss.

I've been working on some writing - just a little bit - and it's coming on so well, and I'm so happy. Everything's been done by hand, and not just fanfiction but school stuff too, and while before my hand would hurt after so much work, it doesn't now. It feels a little tight, but no pain. I'm going to take this as a sign of improvement. SO. IT MEANS I CAN WRITE. ... though I should probably rest for a few days orz. But then I'll go back to writing about those sexy gay countries, oh yes.

I went to McNally Robinson this evening, partly just for something to do, but also partly 'cause there was a novel I wanted to get. And they did have it! Yesss. I normally don't buy my books there because it's so expensive but sometimes they have stuff even Amazon doesn't have. 'n now I have my copy of Hold Fast. Really happy about that, because even though it's a YA novel, it's still one of the best Canadian novels I've read. It's too bad I still don't have my nice hardcover edition though... it was so pretty. ARGH I wish I hadn't had to get rid of so many of my books when I was moving from Nova Scotia; that sucked. But, now I can re-read it. I also picked up Pratchett's Johnny and the Bomb... they had Unseen Academicals too, but I think I'll wait until it comes out in paperback. Ffff speaking of hardcovers I went through the history section not expecting to find anything... and I kind of didn't... but they did have a big fat book about the history of the Vikings and such and it looked really good but it was fifty bucks, guhhh. No, I didn't buy it. Maybe I'll see if the school library has it. Or wait until paperback. Getting stuff from the library is all right, but I like to make notes in my historybooks and put stickytabs on the pages I find interesting and stuff. I never want to give back library books, derp.

ANYWAY. Cool story, bro. When I was heading back I decided to walk home. I missed the bus, so I figured, WHATEVER. It'll take less time for me to walk home than it would to wait for the bus. So I just... walked home. It took me about an hour. :| I keep forgetting how far away the book store is from my place. BUT. IT WAS SO NICE OUT. Not too hot, not too chilly, juuuuust right. MAN I love this time of year. Except for the part that everything still hasn't cleaned itself up from winter, so there are dead leaves everywhere and the grass isn't green yet... but at least it's nice and cool. Ahhhh~
yuuago: (Moomin - Snufkin again)
Well, my body is still trolling me, but I'm starting to get used to it, I think. In any case, while the weekend was up and down and up and down, the first day of spring was pretty okay. I went out for a long walk on that day, headed down by the river. Things are starting to melt pretty nicely, though there's still a bit of mud in the brush, and it's still awfully muddy all over the place. But, when things start to clean up, it'll look mighty nice. At any rate, it's better than what went on back home - Fort McMurray got a few inches of snow on that day, according to my dad. Compared to that, Saskatoon sounds pretty nice, muddy or not.

Took some photos while I was out. )

And some older ones too, from October )

I really should go around to more different areas to take pictures. The thing is, though, I tend to feel a little silly when I do it. Saskatoon isn't exactly a tourist destination, to put it mildly, so someone going around with a camera is a little bit weird - especially if they're doing it in a residential area.

Urgh, I really should be in bed now, because I have an appointment in the morning. I'm not sleepy at all, though. Just my luck.
yuuago: (Norway - Hush)
This last week has been full of SO MUCH FAIL and I am just so displeased with myself. Sorry if I haven't been very conversational, guys. Or if I've seemed like kind of a downer. Tomorrow (technically today) is the start of a new week, and I'm going to try so much harder to pull myself up - or at least not bring other people down. I really need to turn things around.

I need to stop wearing my hat constantly. I swear, if I do that all the time, I'll go bald. ... Or at least have really bad hair. Speaking of which, I should get it cut soon. It's starting to get hella long. Annoying. On the other hand, it's nice to be able to tie it back if I want to.

Gahhhh. Well, Easter is coming up next month, and I'm going to crosscheck with my schedule and, if everything is clear, ask mum if I can come up to Fort Mac to visit for a few days. It would be nice to be around family for a short while - and aside from that, there are some people in Fort Mac that I need to have sign some things so that I can get my passport. I don't know anyone in Saskatoon, so I'll have to get someone from Fort Mac to fill the forms as guarantor etc. Hmm this means I'll have to get the photos done ASAP as well. Sigh. I was hoping I could get most things done here, but since so many things need someone else's signature, it's better if I just wait until I go back home again.

Passport stuff aside, whenever I go home mum gives me a little extra money for groceries 'n things, which is nice. I kind of need it right now. It'll be a while yet before school is over and I can get myself some work, and until then I want to do as much as I can to prevent myself from having to dip into my travel money.

Well. Life might be full of suck, but at least spring is coming. It's coming! I can smell it! Everything's melting. Unfortunately that means that everything is freezing, too. The walk outside my apartment building's front door is absolutely slick with ice, especially the part that crosses the alleyway. Wouldn't be so bad if I didn't have to walk across it every time I go out. If things don't improve in a couple days I'm going to see if I can do something about it. Salt it or put down kitty litter like my mum does to her front walk, or something like that.

Sigh. I wish my wrist was healed. I HAVE A FIC I WANT TO WRITE. Goddamnit. Well. I'll console myself by tweaking dialogue for my entry in Ellie's caption contest (ohohoho). And doing the storyline writeup for my Swe/Nor fst, because I can do that on the computer. And... doing physio exercises. Ughhhhh. I have another appointment for that next week. I feel things haven't improved much. And that's another $50 out of my pocket. I just -- ugh, I'm so depressed about this wrist of mine, it's ridiculous.
yuuago: (SweNor - Kiss)
I spent most of today running around trying to find the red olympic mittens for someone on my FList. I hit two different Zellers, but they didn't have them; tomorrow I'm going to try the third one, and if they don't have 'em, I give up. GEEZE, SASKATOON, WHY SO FAIL. They had a ton of them back in Fort Mac, sigh. Frustrating!

After hitting the second Zellers, I decided to walk home, because waiting for the bus would take a while. Unfortunately, I kind of forgot just how long it takes me to walk home from that location, 'cause I hadn't done it since the summer. Over a freakin' hour, man! And I was speedwalking it! Well, at least it was gorgeous out today. Not too chilly at all, only around -9 I think. Still, that walk took a lot out of me, and by the time I got home I was bloody exhausted. It felt good, though. I think I much prefer making that walk in winter - in summer, it's just way too much. I don't do well in heat.

While I was out running around I had a passing thought about how easy it would be to disappear into this city, have it swallow me up. Kind of frightening, that. It made me reconsider some things. For a while, I'd been thinking of maybe, in about five years or so, moving back to Nova Scotia. Well, no matter if I do or don't, I won't be moving anywhere until I'm mentally healthy again. If Saskatoon could absorb me, gods know what Halifax could do, and if I'm unwell, I need to be somewhere close enough that family can reach me in a day. I don't have relatives in Nova Scotia any more, so... yeah. It's frustrating, but I guess it's the best way to go about things. Keep taking it one day at a time, then just see what happens.

Was flipping through my files this evening and came across plans for a Swe/Nor FST that I never finished. I've been in the mood for that pairing for 'bout a month now, so I might as well try to finish it. It's hard though. I keep realizing, man, my current music taste is so limited. Need to broaden it or something. And recently I haven't been listening to stuff that's in English, which makes it harder. If I'm going to use something from another language, it needs to really, really fit (and would preferably be in a suiting language, too...). Oh, well. I'll think of something. Mostly just need two more, I think, and then to do the story/tracklist writeup.

Everything else aside, today was a really good day for hockey. Gold for Canada, yesssss. And Finland beat Sweden, which made me really happy (and man, that game was pretty epic, I'd say). Looks like the women's teams totally made up for the men's teams losing earlier in the week.
yuuago: (Estonia - Our song)
Soo-oo. I finally downloaded more music by Hedningarna; previously I'd only listened to a few of their songs up on Youtube, including "Pornopolka", which I love. Anyway, snagged a couple albums, and holy shit I think I'm in love. I don't know, something about it goes right down and twists the guts. When I have an emotional reaction like that, I know I've come across something.

The snowfall over the weekend rendered the city a bit of a clusterfuck. I went out yesterday to get my x-rays done, and the going was not-so-good. Buses were running really slowly, and they kept getting stuck in the snow. Actually, a couple days ago, I saw one that had slipped or something and was stuck on the curb; it hut the bus-stop sign, even - and that's still knocked down. Anyway, it was slow going. Fortunately it wasn't too cold yesterday, as I had to walk from the main terminal to the medical centre. Afterward I decided, "fuck this", and made the decision to just walk home instead of waiting for the bus again. It probably took less time than waiting for the bus would.

Anyway, the x-ray thing went well. It was just a quick in-and-out, and I doubt if the entire thing, including the waiting, took more than fifteen minutes. I still have other things that need to be done in relation to taking care of my wrist issue; bloodwork, and also some physical therapy. I'd originally intended to do that today after school, but because the weather was so bad and I was very tired I decided that it was better if I just go straight home.

Babbling about MLP )

So far, I've done pretty well with my resolutions for the year. I'm excited about that. Previous years, I haven't really made any resolutions at all, so attempting to keep up with something has been fun. What I'm probably going to do is recap on the last day of the month how my progress has gone with everything. Fabulous. <3

:| x1000

Jan. 19th, 2010 11:41 pm
yuuago: (Norway - Stare)
Remains of Eadgyth, Anglo-Saxon Queen, discovered in German cathedral

Well. Today was a total bust. I slept in and missed the bus, missed class, arrrgh. I hate it when that happens, especially since I love my medieval class.

Then later on - okay, I intended to go get my x-ray stuff done, like I've been meaning to for over a week now. But I couldn't find the damn place. I think the address on my sheet was wrong, or something. Frustrating as hell, and by the time I stopped trying to find it and decided to go back, I was feeling pretty down. Well, I'll check up tomorrow morning and see if I can find the correct address but goddamn, it's just a huge bummer.

On the upside, I do have a follow-up appointment on Friday morning, so if I don't find the damn place by then I can ask the doc about it. I also intend to ask about physical therapy or whatever it is. Siiiigh. At least my hand feels a tad better - however, I don't know if this is because it actually does feel better, or if I'm just getting used to my fingers feeling tingly all the time. :|

Gahhh, trying to look at the good things, trying to look at the good things. I did a lot of walking today. It was sunny and bright and the air was fresh and I felt good at the time. I should take more walks in the afternoon, or even the late morning, rather than waiting until past 4. It starts to get dark then, and it really isn't as nice. I should appreciate this good weather while we still have it... gods know it'll probably get cold again.

When I was doing my ridiculous running around today, I took the bus to a part of the city I'd never been in before. It made me nervous, because I really prefer using my own two feet when going somewhere I'm not familiar with - it's less easy for me to miss my mark or get lost that way - but on the other hand I rather liked it because now I know where some other things are. Sure, nothing particularly interesting, but there we are. I found myself thinking that what I should have done when I first moved here was, I should've just picked random days and random bus routes and rode their routes so that I would know where everything goes. But, that would've made too much sense, of course. ... Maybe I'll do it eventually, though. It'd be kind of neat.
yuuago: (Omgwut - Facedesk)
This is just ridiculous.

-43C/-45.4F? Are you fucking kidding me, Saskatchewan?

Apparently not )

This is ridiculous. :| I think maybe I'll just lock myself in my house and stay there FOREVER. Gods fucking damn.

I had considered going out for supper tonight because I stayed home the entire day yesterday and now of course that means I'm antsy as hell, but uh... yeahhhh not sure how I feel about that now. Sure, it's not a huge deal if you dress properly, but argh, I just don't feel like it. :| Maybe I'll just camp out at the cafe all day.

In other news, I spoke with Stephen yesterday. He's the guy who has lived in our building the longest, and he knows things. The furnace has been going crazy the last couple days; making the weirdest fucking noises all day and all night. He said that it seems to be the same problem we had last year, something to do with the radiator system. I can't quite explain it, but basically things are fucked up, and if we don't figure out what's going down then we might end up with another broken furnace again. Considering how cold it's been, and how hellish last year was with the furnace broken in the winter, you can guess that I'm not too thrilled about that idea.

Trying to sleep last night was rather entertaining, what with the furnace making those noises, sounding like it could explode at any moment - and my bedroom right over the furnace room, hah. :| Sometimes it'd stop for a couple minutes, and whenever it would stop, I'd count, waiting for the "Kaboom". Sigh.

Anyway. Schoolwork is currently kicking my ass somethin' awful and I feel like I'm going insane. It's probably going to be the same up until midnight on the 22nd. Lovely. After that, family stuff. But after that, I'll be free for a few days! .... I'm returning to Saskatchewan on the 2nd or something. Damn, what a short-ass vacation. SIGH. But I have a pretty light second semester so like, maybe what I'll do is when school starts up again, I'll go to my class and then just... catch up on all my sleep after that. *facedesk*
yuuago: (Germany - Reading)
Archaeologists find rare Crusader-era murals in Syria

I accidentally fell asleep shortly after 9 PM. It's now 2 AM and I just woke up. FML. Though I'll be going back to bed soon, unless I end up distracted with talking to people. Still, I am Not Impressed with myself.

Today was almost entirely unremarkable. Apart from the usual school and schoolwork, I did nothing - except that when I stepped out to do some errands, I made my way down to the Analogue Blog to see if there was any new graffiti. There was, so I took some photos. It had snowed that day, so that was why I'd taken my camera with me, but by the time I stepped out most of it was gone. Well, anyway, the trees are still in leaf, so the effect is rather jarring when the snow is there. It's not something you see often. Of course, I'll be posting those photos later, after I bother to edit them.

Aside from that, I've nothing much to say except that Thomas King's Green Grass, Running Water is an amazing novel (so far) and I'm really enjoying it. Having read some of his work before, this isn't much of a surprise. I only wish I had gotten around to reading it sooner.

... Is it normal to panic if you see e-mail from certain people in your inbox? Sigh. Really, this is getting ridiculous. :| COMPLETELY UNWARRANTED, goddaaayum.
yuuago: (Finland - Snow)


Took this last night. We have snow. I am not impressed. :| TOO FUCKING EARLY. WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU, NATURE? Anyway.

PSA: Going away for a few days. Gasp, whatever will y'all do without my daily tl;dr?

I'll be leaving in a couple of hours to go to my relatives' house for Thanksgiving. I'll be gone until Sunday evening, and I won't be taking my laptop with me. Might have access while I'm there, but not much. So, the best way to contact me will be through LJ and through PM.

I have nothing else to say except that I did not get enough sleep and I foresee that I shall be very cranky in the near future. :|

Oh yes, and the issue I was having with a friend has been completely cleared up. Everything's fine now. I can stop losing sleep over it. <3

[edit 12:30 AM] safe and sound in Alberta. Get good reception with itouch but writing on it is a pain. Catching up on Flist and the meme. You guys write too much ;p
yuuago: (Canada - Hetalia)
I've been meaning to put this up for a while, but just hadn't gotten around to it. I think I took these photos last month. Part of it is in the neighbourhood area, and the rest was taken under the Broadway Bridge by the river.

I love Saskatoon <3 )
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 08:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios