yuuago: (Cookie monster - Thinking)
Man, I totally intended to keep up with Olympic judo, but that didn't really materialize.

Christa Deguchi won Canada's first-ever gold in judo, though, so that's pretty cool. Congrats to her! And she was also our first gold for this year's Olympics, too. [CBC article]

I'll have to dig up some highlight videos later or something. :V The live matches stream at ridiculous o'clock, and I don't think I could find the time to watch after-the-fact, but snips might be. Doable. :V
yuuago: (Finland - Coffee)
Wow. What a day. Hockey gold for Canada, and the end of the Olympics. That bottle of Baileys I was saving? Gone - as Minni knows well. (Good gods, I'm glad I accidentally closed the window halfway through talking to her. That log is likely just... embarrassing)

It'd be a lie if I said I wasn't actually kind of relieved it's all over. Now things can get back to normal, haa. It's great when exciting things happen, but stability is good too! (As well as following a regular schedule). So hopefully this week will be a turn-around for me. I've spent so much time watching hockey in the last week that I haven't been doing much else. (Really need to do laundry, argh)

I have so much to do tomorrow, it's crazy. WELL. I'D BEST GET ON THAT. It certainly doesn't help that I've been having issues with sleeping lately because my radiator keeps waking me up at around 6 AM with... issues. Lots of really loud banging noises. Seriously, radiator, what the hell're you doin'? I wish there was a way I could make it... stop... doing that because it's really inconvenient. I end up falling back asleep and staying in bed until noon. NOT GOOD.

Since I don't have anything else to say - because I haven't been doing much - here, I'll share a simple recipe for breadcrumb chicken thighs that I made the other night, a variation on what my mum makes, 'cause it's delicious. Very simple, buuut I know there are people on my flist who are as incapable in the kitchen as I am, sooo yeah.

Mmmm chicken )

And now, to BED.
yuuago: (Finland - Moomin)
If you don't care about hockey, here, have something awesome:
China and Kenya to search for medieval Chinese ships on the Kenyan coast

....Anyway.

HELL YEAH FINLAND


YOU GO

YOU GET THAT BRONZE

YEAHHHHHHHH

Man, that was SUCH a good game, oh my gods, that Slovakian team played like hell, jesus.


I'm so happy, what the hell, it doesn't make any sense, ahhhh but still, it's good.

And tomorrow.

SUNDAY, SUNDAY, SUNDAY.

I can't wait. 8)

(Yeah, I didn't do anything today, either)
yuuago: (Omgwhee - Cat dance)
FUCK YEAH WE WON WE WON WE WON WE WON

this almost totally makes up for Finland losing earlier today I mean seriously seriously serious

but anyway

FUCK YEAH WE WON

SUNDAY

BRING IT ONNNNNNNN AMERICA

WE'RE GONNA KICK YOUR RED WHITE AND BLUE ASS

YEAHHHHHHHHHH



....
yeah I didn't do anything exciting today
yep.
yuuago: (SweNor - Kiss)
I spent most of today running around trying to find the red olympic mittens for someone on my FList. I hit two different Zellers, but they didn't have them; tomorrow I'm going to try the third one, and if they don't have 'em, I give up. GEEZE, SASKATOON, WHY SO FAIL. They had a ton of them back in Fort Mac, sigh. Frustrating!

After hitting the second Zellers, I decided to walk home, because waiting for the bus would take a while. Unfortunately, I kind of forgot just how long it takes me to walk home from that location, 'cause I hadn't done it since the summer. Over a freakin' hour, man! And I was speedwalking it! Well, at least it was gorgeous out today. Not too chilly at all, only around -9 I think. Still, that walk took a lot out of me, and by the time I got home I was bloody exhausted. It felt good, though. I think I much prefer making that walk in winter - in summer, it's just way too much. I don't do well in heat.

While I was out running around I had a passing thought about how easy it would be to disappear into this city, have it swallow me up. Kind of frightening, that. It made me reconsider some things. For a while, I'd been thinking of maybe, in about five years or so, moving back to Nova Scotia. Well, no matter if I do or don't, I won't be moving anywhere until I'm mentally healthy again. If Saskatoon could absorb me, gods know what Halifax could do, and if I'm unwell, I need to be somewhere close enough that family can reach me in a day. I don't have relatives in Nova Scotia any more, so... yeah. It's frustrating, but I guess it's the best way to go about things. Keep taking it one day at a time, then just see what happens.

Was flipping through my files this evening and came across plans for a Swe/Nor FST that I never finished. I've been in the mood for that pairing for 'bout a month now, so I might as well try to finish it. It's hard though. I keep realizing, man, my current music taste is so limited. Need to broaden it or something. And recently I haven't been listening to stuff that's in English, which makes it harder. If I'm going to use something from another language, it needs to really, really fit (and would preferably be in a suiting language, too...). Oh, well. I'll think of something. Mostly just need two more, I think, and then to do the story/tracklist writeup.

Everything else aside, today was a really good day for hockey. Gold for Canada, yesssss. And Finland beat Sweden, which made me really happy (and man, that game was pretty epic, I'd say). Looks like the women's teams totally made up for the men's teams losing earlier in the week.
yuuago: (Norway - Tea)
Today was just so much fail. Because of the hockey th'other day, I was so exhausted that I slept in until noon. Had a really weird dream, too, though I can't really recall many details right now. It involved running from something, as my dreams usually do, and long winding packed-dirt roads out in the middle of fields and bush late at night. Pretty damn spooky.

Most of the morning afternoon was spent panicking about a presentation that I have to give tomorrow... which I actually do not have to do tomorrow. Damnit, somehow I ended up thinking that I was to give it on the 24th, when I really need to give it on March 9th. On the one hand, I'm glad that I didn't have to rush and pull an all-nighter today, but on the other hand I feel like an idiot for not checking the syllabus sooner. Well, at least now I can take my time with it and do a good job.

I know I keep complaining about it, but I'm just so frustrated with my wrist right now. I was doing some work for that presentation, and I was writing out things because I think better when I write. But after only a page my hand started to feel really wrong again, and gods know it'll probably be doing pretty bad by tomorrow. I don't know, I guess I just feel so cut off from everything, because not only can't I do the things I love to do (writing), but I can't do the things I need to do (... writing). Well, looks like I'll just have to step up the physio exercises and try to figure something out.

Spoke with my mum about my appointment to get wisdom teeth taken out. She seemed kind of panicky and nervous about it, which really did not thrill me at all. Seriously, mum, that doesn't help me feel better. I mean, I do have a pretty cavalier attitude about the whole thing - dentists don't make me nervous at all, I can go through it no problem, even got a root canal done with hardly a bit of worry or discomfort. But when I go in to get this done, they won't be able to sedate me, and I'm troubled about that. They said that they only sedate people if there is someone to pick them up and take them home afterword, so since I don't have someone, they can't do it, even though I live right next to the building. Fuck. Oh, well. I guess I'll live.

On an unrelated note, I think I've fallen in love with this song (it's so pretty!) but I can't sing it because somehow I keep wanting to pronounce the words as I would if they were in Middle English. I'm... not even sure why that is. Maybe it's just a combination of unfamiliar language + too much Middle English on the brain lately. Still, fail, self. Swedish ≠ Middle English by any stretch.

In other news, we got another gold medal (yesssss). And on Thursday, it'll be Finland vs Sweden and Canada vs USA again, only this time it's women's hockey, and I'm so fucking excited. Going to watch hockey all day, hell yeah. Let's hope the Finnish 'n Canadian women's teams are better at kicking ass than their male counterparts. :|
yuuago: (Estonia - Whyyyyy)
Er, excuse me for a sec, I'm having a moment.

WHAT THE HELL

WHY DO MY TEAMS ALWAYS LOSE

CANADA TO THE USA, WHAT THE SHIT IS THAT

WTF YOU DOIN CANADA

AND THEN YOUUUU FINLAND

LOSING TO SWEDEN LIKE THAT

YOU DIDN'T EVEN SCORE

WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU

.... I think I'm done.

I'm going to go cry manly tears into my pillow now.

Sob.
yuuago: (Finland - Moomin)
Today went pretty well, even though I didn't get a whole lot done. I went down to physio, and the end result is this: The condition of my wrist is not getting worse, which is good. Unfortunately, any improvement that is going on is going slowly. That sort of thing is expected with nerves; they heal slowly. But it's still very frustrating. I'm going to have to be very careful to not put pressure on my wrist, and to do the proper stretches every day, and now in addition to that I need to massage it at least once per day. Aside from that, there isn't much I can do, aside from making sure to write as little as possible, and take frequent breaks when using the computer.

This just sucks so much. I hate not being able to do things - but aaa, I guess I've complained about that enough, haven't I? And it's my own damn fault, too, though I really didn't suspect that something like this would happen. Oh, well. At least I've learned. Taking breaks when you're doing homework is important. DON'T FORGET THAT, GUYS. TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. Sigh.

Saiyuki, the Anime vs the Manga, and Yuu's lack of attention span )

USA beat Finland, but the Finns are still awesome )
yuuago: (Sweden - Reading)
Today was uneventful. Slept in until ridiculous o'clock, talked with Minako a while, then headed out. The weather was quite good today, and I was rather happy to be getting some fresh air. Ended up heading down to Indigo. Still had some money left on a giftcard, so I bought myself a French workbook. That, combined with the computer stuff I've been using - some Byki, some Rosetta Stone - should help me quite a bit. It's one thing to go through it on the computer, and another thing to write stuff out. If I do both, maybe I'll remember things better.

Oh - now I remember. I did get something very exciting in the mail today. <3 Ahhh~ Ellie sent me the 2009 'Heritage Project' APH Illustration Anthology. So gorgeous, oh my gods, so many beautiful illustrations - and not to mention, Radittz has some art in it, so that makes me extra-happy, because she's my favourite. Soo-oo, it's very nice to have this, and Ellie is wonderful, aaaand yes.

Anyway. In "Yuu is smart and by smart I really mean a ditz", I don't know how much time I spent looking around for a calendar that would fit on the one bit of my fridge that doesn't have stuff stuck to it. Couldn't find one. BUT. Today I realized - I can make my own. Wow. 5 minutes PSP + printer = one rad monthly sheet, currently featuring the Nordics in their olympics jackets. Man, Finland, your coat is hideous. ANYWAY, I feel ditzy because it took me so long to think of it, but now I'm pleased as punch that I actually thought of it. Go me!

Should be in bed right now because I have another physio appointment tomorrow shortly before lunch, fuck. Oh, well, who needs sleep anyway. To be honest, my wrist isn't doing too great right now, which I'm not thrilled about. Oh, well. And I'll have to do homework after the appointment, too... aaa. Well, I'll just have to be sure to go easy on it, and take many breaks.

13-1? Sweden wtf r u doin. Also, thoughts on Own the Podium )
yuuago: (Canada - Hetalia)
Okay, so I'm finally home, safe and sound. The flight back was suck to the max; delays up the wazoo, and I had to get up pretty damn early to boot - quarter after 5, ugh. Dad drove me, and he ended up taking me down Millennium Drive. I have no idea why he had that idea, because we got stuck in traffic. Everyone knows you don't go down that road in the mornings 'cause then you have to deal with Fort Mac traffic, ughhhh. Oh, well. I left Fort Mac okay, and got back to Stoon in one piece.

It was pretty weird to be outside at 4:30 and not have the sun setting on me. After less than a week in Fort Mac I found myself back in that mode, getting used to the dark and the valley rising up all around, aaaa. Well, I'll miss that, but I won't be missing being around my parents constantly. My dad is all right, but my mum doesn't seem to realize that after being around people for hours, I need some alone time, and I get very non-social. :| Oh, well. On the upside, she did give me taxi money - but I didn't use it for the taxi from the airport. I took the bus back instead, because it isn't a big deal especially when the day is nice as this one was. So, this means I have a bit of money for groceries, and a bit to put away for travel.

The next few days will consist of me recovering from my "vacation", doing homework, hopefully doing some editing on old fic so I can post it up in the next week, aaaaand also bumming around watching the Olympics.

We kicked Norway's ass, and why I like women's hockey. )
yuuago: (Canada - Hetalia)
Today was a mixed bag. It started out pretty okay, though. Woke up, talked with a friend, had a good shower and just lazed around forever. Re-read some comics. Just fun stuff.

When mum came home, we went out for a while. In the car I ended up talking about my friends, and she ended up saying so many stupid and ignorant and sometimes kind of horrible things about the places where they're from. Needless to say, I got rather butthurt, but instead of showing it I did my best to explain the way it actually is. I did internally rage when she said "Nobody goes to Finland. There's nothing there." FUCK YOU I'M GOIN|G TO GO TO FINLAND AND IT'LL BE WONDERFUL. Though er, she doesn't know about my plan yet.

Around suppertime I mentioned that I wanted to watch the Olympic opening ceremonies, so we talked about that a while. I had heard a rumour that Rush would be playing, though I didn't know for sure. Me 'n my dad really hoped it would be Rush, though. I jokingly said that "Knowing our luck, it'll be Nickelback. Or even worse, Nelly Furtado". ... And guess who ended up singing at the actual ceremony. UGH. FURTADO. Fuck, I can't stand Nelly Furtado. I hate when I'm right.

But ahhhh K.D. Lang singing made up for it <3

I was going to go on a long rant about how much my mum angered me while we were watching the ceremonies becuase she kept making the most horrible, horrible comments about various places. But, er, I'll spare you that. I'm not in the mood for it. Especially because I was just looking through photos right now, and came across one of the Estonian team, and ahhhh their outfits are so so so cute. I want one of those snowflake jackets, man. (The cute Estonians make up for Finland's horrible fashion sense. Seriously, those coats - absolutely hideous. What on earth were you thinking, Finland? I am disappoint.)

I am so excited for watching everything, but mostly hockey, because ahhhh hockey. I know people keep saying "We have to get a gold this year, and it has to be in hockey". And true, a gold on our own soil for the first time would be great, especially if it's in hockey. But even if it isn't, I don't think it matters much... as long as the US doesn't get it. :| If we don't end up with it, I'd much rather see someone other than the US get it. Sweden maybe. Or even Russia. But, we shall see~
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 11:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios