MIsc ☆

Dec. 21st, 2021 08:03 pm
yuuago: (DenNor - Chess)
☆ Wishing a blessed solstice to everyone, etc etc etc. I forgot all about it until this evening, per usual. (I'd probably remember these dates better if I were more plugged in to the pagan community, but that is... a subject for another day.) Anyway, I'm very much looking forward to the return of the sun, even if it's going to be rather, uh, incremental.

☆ My car was experiencing some issues, so I took it in. Surprise, it's going to require some costly repair! And another battery change. I wish I could say I'm shocked, but my car is a hunk of junk the kind of vehicle that would probably do perfectly fine somewhere warm like, I dunno, Calgary, but really doesn't handle our extreme weather very well.

☆ No response from my beta reader on that FTH fic. Starting to wonder if they haven't been checking that particular email. I'm beginning to feel the desire to just throw the thing on Ao3 and then edit it later if they ever do respond.

☆ I feel like my tumblr dash is conspiring to make me watch Columbo. Except it's just Tik posting a lot of it, so it's a one-man plot. If I had more time, he would have succeeded. ;V

☆ Just saw the trailer for The Tragedy of Macbeth. I had not heard about this until now! I'm super interested! It looks really artsy.

☆☆☆

Dec. 2nd, 2018 10:20 pm
yuuago: (Norway - Tea)
☆ Ahhh the draft for my NiF exchange fic is done, draft for my zine submission is also done... I don't have any writing deadlines for a bit. Feels good! I think I'll just... relax, and pick away at these, and not fuss over anything for a while. :)

☆ The yarn void has been conquered! In other words, that baby blanket I was knitting for my coworker is done. ;) I'm rather glad to be finished with it - was getting a bit sick of it toward the end, hah. It's nice to be able to start something new!

☆ Started That Nice Stitch Cowl, working in that one weird little ball of Berroco Boboli Lace that I bought ages ago. It's kind of gold/silver/bronze shades, a bit shiny. It's nice and squishy, but it feels a bit weird to knit with; must be on account of being a wool/acrylic/rayon mix. Looks good, though. The provisional cast-on gave me a bit of trouble at first, but I figured it out well enough (I'll probably be singing a different tune when it comes time to pull out the waste yarn, hah). If I end up liking this pattern a lot, it might be useful for all those one-off skeins of sock yarn that have inevitably accumulated....

[community profile] holiday_wishes is a neat little comm. Post a wishlist, and see if you can grant other people's wishes - pretty simple setup. You can post your wishlists up until the end of December. Maybe some of you would be interested?
yuuago: (Denmark - Smile)
First things first: darling Kaino wrote me a fic for the Hetalia Nordics exchange (being assigned to my friend was a pleasant surprise in itself) and I'm absolutely delighted by it! It's the story of Denmark and Iceland's relations, from Kalmarunionen up to post-WWII, written in a saga/fairytale-esque style: Saga of Two Brothers. Go read it if you like those character-countries and/or fairy tale narratives.

Excerpt from that fic, just because )

Anyway. Yuletide opened last night, and I have so many fics up in tabs. I'm going to enjoy going through some of these; some of them look really promising! There are so many Hatoful Boyfriend fics; I'm surprised, but happy. And a lot of Road to El Dorado... I'm going to enjoy reading those, I think. And lots of other things too. If I come across anything super awesome, I'll link it here, of course.

I'm glad I had a chance to read my exchange fic now, though. The rest of the day is going to be soooo busy. I hope everyone will have a good day!

---

Dec. 23rd, 2014 12:57 pm
yuuago: (Frozen - Elsa)
Well! Solstice has passed. I'm so glad. It was starting to get so dark so early, I just couldn't handle it. Though it'll be a while before it's light at an early hour again, I'm definitely looking forward to it. That's what I get for living so far north, but... one would think I'd be used to it by now.

Christmas is almost here... I'll be glad when it's over, honestly. The time off from work is nice, but the holiday itself is far too much fuss.

I have some movies lined up: Metropolis (1927), Eyes Without A Face (1960), and J'Accuse (1919) - the last one since I didn't watch it last month as I intended. Well actually I have a bunch of movies on my to-watch list, it's just a matter of grabbing 'em, but it's so long that it's hard to narrow it down... and I've been in the mood for dusty old stuff, anyhow.

Nothing left to say, so here's a link to one of my favourite songs by Týr: Tróndur í Gøtu
yuuago: (Default)
I'm finished all of my Christmas cards! What a relief. But I have some stamps left, so I might track down some more people for their current addresses. I don't know. Have to decide. I'd normally just leave it be, but the stamps that I have remaining are Christmas stamps, so I might as well use them up for now. Or not.

I also finished with [community profile] fandom_stocking, at least for now. Decided that I would fill 6 stockings, and I did 6, with 7-9 icons in each. So, I'm done for now. But later on I might do more if the mood hits me, especially in the (unlikely?) chance that someone requests one of my more obscure fandoms. Or... I might write a drabble or two. One of the people who requested Hetalia likes Denmark/Norway, so I think I might be able to put something together for them.

But for now... I really need to concentrate on my exchange fic. Maybe I should bring the paper drafts to work so that I can scribble some things down during lunch? I know how the story will go - it's just a matter of writing it out, and the sooner I get that done, the better. One thing that has me a little concerned is that it doesn't feel set in the time and place. It's supposed to be Kalmar Union, but it doesn't feel like a history fic. That's... a problem. I should fix that.
yuuago: (Frozen - Elsa)
I wish I could Elsa it up and say that the cold doesn't bother me, but alas, no. It's -30C out and it's just going to get worse. Why do I live in northern Alberta, again?! ... Oh, wait. Because this is where the jobs are. Right.

Did some last-minute (online) shopping today! I think that's everything, except for one thing that I need to pick up in town this weekend. And then I can start wrapping and get it over with and I won't have to think about it any more. And cards - I need to do that, too. Man, for someone who doesn't like Christmas much, I'm sure busy with holiday stuff. I don't know how this happens every year.

[personal profile] moonamaija recommended a drama to me, called Salatut elämät - apparently it's cute and there's a cute gay couple in it and I should watch it. "You'll improve your Finnish!" she says. Might be good, since currently the Finnish I know is only enough to greet someone, curse them out, and then apologize for it. Well, that's all you need to know in order to get around in Finland, joo? (... I'm so glad that I was with friends while I was there. Using English was fine, but it was comforting knowing that I had someone who could translate if a problem came up!)

This entry is all over the place. Here, to make it even more random, have a link to a nice Russian song, called "Kon (The Horse)", recent but in traditional style.

Cards-

Nov. 17th, 2014 07:51 pm
yuuago: (Netherlands - Rest)
Was thinking about doing Christmas cards this year... If anybody wants one, send me a Direct Message on Dreamwidth or Livejournal. (If you don't celebrate christmas but want a card anyway, that's fine, I have some cute normal cards that I can send too)

I'm so tired and it's only Monday... this is going to be a long week.
yuuago: (Valiant Hearts - Anna)
Wow, Tumblr's new margins certainly cause... issues... for photosets/image quality/proper display/etc. I was thinking about making some imagesets this weekend, since I took a lot of caps while playing VH and wanted to try putting them together in an interesting way, but uh. I think I'll hold off on that until this gets sorted out. Hopefully Tumblr will notice how upset everyone is (especially since it applies retroactively - posts made for the old format are displaying with the new one, and it just doesn't work) and they'll roll back to the old margin format.

Not that I'm attached to Tumblr - I think you all know that I don't like it for text-based communication - but when it comes to things like screencap sets, it's great. Or at least, it was. So hopefully that'll get fixed.

Anyway. If I do get the image-snipping bug, I can always make icons. Quick and easy and no need to worry about fitting it into the format of a temperamental website.

This last week has been really exhausting; I'm so glad that it's almost over. I wish that I could be excited for Halloween, but it's hard when I'm so tired. Not to mention that... well, I don't have a party to go to, nor any friends to celebrate with. I might do some gothy makeup for at work (ahh, I love the opportunity to wear black lipstick without people looking at me strangely) but that's all. If I'm lucky, some people from the APH Anon Meme will stream some horror movies. That'd be nice. Otherwise, I might just re-watch an old film that I like. And maybe go see something on Saturday? I don't know - it's hard to say. On the one hand I don't really want to go downtown at all, but on the other I have a few things that I need to take to the secondhand store eventually, if not now, and I might as well do something while I'm in the area... But maybe that can wait until next week. Anyway, if I do go, it's a toss-up between Dracula Untold and Ouija (those are the only two playing that look like they'd be at all relevant to my interests)

I forgot that I'll have Remembrance Day off... it's kind of strange that I keep forgetting it, but then again no. In some ways I'm still not used to an office job schedule; more used to retail, where stat holidays might as well not exist. So, I won't be working. Strange to have a day off on a Tuesday, but it'll be nice. I should rewatch La Grande Illusion on that day, perhaps.

Speaking of films, note to self: Check out the 1938 version (and perhaps 1919?) J'accuse! by Abel Grace. It sounds very interesting.
yuuago: (Ghost)
Finally watched Paranorman. Man, if someone told me earlier that it's a stop motion film, I probably would have seen it ages ago. When it was in cinema, even. I love stop motion, and this one was beautifully executed. It doesn't stick with me as much as some others - I'm thinking mainly of Nightmare Before Christmas - but for what it is, it's pretty good. And you can tell that it was made by folks who really appreciate horror; there are so many little references to classic films, it's awesome.

Also watched Pet Sematary this weekend. It was... well, the novel is definitely not one of my favourite Stephen King novels, and I'm not all that into the film version either. But I'm glad that I finally got around to watching it, just so that I'd know what the fuss is about. One thing that did strike me is that I didn't remember much about Pascow's role in the novel, but in the film he did make an impression; I like what they did with him there.

Anyway. This weekend was... well, I was very anxious, and holidays are always stressful. But Thanksgiving is over, and since we had our supper on Saturday, today was very relaxing, so that was nice. I managed to finish one of the fics I'd been working on - some Germany/Norway stuff for the kink meme - and now I'm wondering what I should work on. I have a ficlet that's almost done, and then after that I have two long things that I don't feel like working on right now, and a LoZ fic that I also don't feel like working on. So, maybe I could start something new... like that France/Belgium thing that's been sitting in my head for a while. Or maybe not. Signups for the Sweden/Finland fest are going to happen soon, and of course I'll be doing that, even though I'm not into the pairing much. Might as well take a little rest until that starts.

I'm a little bummed out that I'll be working on Halloween. With my schedule, I don't get home until trick-or-treating is almost over, so I won't be able to hand out candy to the kids. Sure, I can stay up late watching horror movies, but... no costume. Ah, well. There's no way I can wiggle out of going to work on that day, so I guess I'm stuck with it.
yuuago: (Canada - Sightless)
Thanksgiving is on Monday, but we're going to have our big fancy supper tomorrow, because it's nice to have an extra day to relax before going back to work. I think it's just going to be us this year, no other guests. And to be honest, I'm fine with that; I like having a nice, quiet holiday supper. It's more relaxing that way.

I'm having another one of those days where I accomplished a lot of little things, including some things that really did need to get done, yet I feel like I did nothing. I hate it when that happens.

On the upside, I managed to finish the draft of a story I've been working on. At least, I think it's finished - I need to take a look at it and decide if I really want to end it where I did end it. But it's probably done. This one is going to require so much revision, though... I've been writing it by hand and then typing it up, because I've been doing most of my writing in cafes, and - well, the nearest coffee shop is a 40-minute walk away. My netbook might be light, but it isn't that light, so I'd rather forego it. Anyway, the end result tends to require more revision than usual, on average. But it all works out in the end.

Some friends have finally convinced me to watch Paranorman. It's been on the to-watch list for a while, but I guess with Halloween coming up, it's time to bump it to the top. That's fine, because I can't be assed to go looking for new titles. Better if people recommend them to me. Speaking of films, The Book of Life is coming out at the end of the upcoming week. Ahhh, I'm excited to go see it! Now it's just a matter of deciding if I'll see it next weekend, or wait a little longer... It's hard to say.
yuuago: (Legend of Zelda)
So, somehow in the last two days I've managed to pound out 2k of Link Between Worlds fic. This is not normal. Usually I'm doing awesome if I can manage to write 500 words of Hetalia fic in that amount of time. I write pretty slowly on average. So this much, for a fandom and characters that I have no experience with, is just ??? how the heck did that happen.

Not that I'm complaining! I'm just really surprised at myself. This doesn't usually happen. I think part of the reason I managed it is because Link is a silent protagonist in the game, so I can pretty much do anything I want with his voice as long as I keep it reasonable. So far the most difficult part has been... everything else. This story is a combination of action/horror with a side of friendship, and the action/horror part is super hard. There's no shortness of creepiness in A Link Between Worlds (and in Legend of Zelda in general) but geeze, how on earth do people write scary stuff?! It's so hard! Not to mention that action scenes never have been my forte. But I'm trying, at least.

Maybe I should read some horror novels to see if I can get any inspiration there - as far as technique and, hmm, creating atmosphere. :D I'm sure I have a few scattered around on the to-read list....

Anyway. It's New Years Eve, isn't it? To be honest, I'm kind of glad to leave 2013 behind. It really sucked in a lot of ways, and I am just plain done with it. On the upside, some good things happened too. Wrote some things I'm satisfied with, read some good books, went on an awesome vacation, started a new position at work and I like it so much better than the previous... and hell, let's add re-discovering an old fandom to the list, even if that happened at the tail-end of the year.

So, it wasn't all bad. But I am realllllly ready to be done and start a new calendar year. So, hopefully the next one will be... better. I'm going to do my best to make it so, I really am! But Chance always plays a part in how things turn out, so there really isn't any way to predict how things will go.

Zzzz

Dec. 29th, 2013 10:21 am
yuuago: (Germany - Reading)
It's kind of weird, but over the last few days I've been feeling a little bit bored. I usually don't get bored, and certainly not when I'm off work, but there it is. I think it might be because it is way too cold to go outside - I mean, I'd love to go out to the cafe or something just as a change of scenery, do some writing there, but it's been hovering between -30 and -40C and I just can't be bothered with that. Too fucking cold, even for me. -20 is doable, but I have limits.

I don't really have any creative juices flowing right now, so I've been trying to eat up the time in other ways. Started a new file for A Link Between Worlds and have been playing on Hero Mode. It's hard, good gods, but I'm enjoying it. I hear that there are a few little extras in this version of the game if you manage to get around to it, so I'm looking forward to that. And while it's challenging, I do like the challenge. Though I have limits. I've heard of people doing zero-upgrade 3-heart runs and I'm like, dude, are you a masochist?! But then again some people are just better with games than I am. And have better reflexes, probably.

Also been doing a lot of reading. I have a lot of books sitting around my room that I haven't read. Some of these are due to size - either they're hardbacks or just plain big, which makes it impractical to take them on the bus to work with me. Might as well get through them while I can. One of those books was the collected Essex County by Jeff Lemire. It's the kind of graphic novel that I would have read in university (I know that sounds odd, but I did take a course on graphic novels as literature). It's very... literary, and very Canadian Literature. It hits all the usual points of family + freezing winters + rural life + hockey. This isn't a bad thing, but man, sometimes I feel like all the Canadian writing that I read is steeped in those four things. ... Clearly this means that I need to read things that are more genre-based. Though genre-based Canadian writing is more difficult to find than the ~literary~ stuff, I think. At least, when it comes to what bookstores in the middle of nowhere carry.

My omnibus copy of Ursula Vernon's Digger came in yesterday. Holy crap, it's gorgeous. It's so beautiful, I'm almost afraid to touch it. That's probably odd, but... oh well. It's special. I'm going to have to read it before work starts up again, else I won't get around to it, but I kind of just want to... set it down somewhere, unopened, and stare at it for a while.
yuuago: (Legend of Zelda)
So, despite all of my fears, Christmas actually turned out pretty nicely! There was drama in the days leading up to it, but today actually went pretty well. I'm surpised and impressed.

Best gift this year was definitely the book my mother got me. It's a huge-ass recipe book of cuisine from the Friuli region of Italy (that's the region my grandfather came from). And omg, it all looks delicious! There are so many things that I want to try making... especially this one kind of pasta filled with fruit and ricotta (can't remember what it's called).

So, that was awesome.

Anyway. A few days ago I finished that Netherlands/Iceland fic for the rarepair exchange. I'd been agonizing over it for so long, and it was such a relief to just post the damn thing. I have no idea what my recipient thinks of it... but honestly, as long as they don't hate it, I'll be satisfied. xD

I've definitely been bitten by the Zelda bug. By that I mean, jesus, I have it bad. I haven't even allowed myself to finish A Link Between Worlds yet, and already I'm debating which game to play next. I'm thinking either Phantom Hourglass or Spirit Tracks, since both of them are playable on 3DS. Well, there's the 3DS version of Ocarina of Time too, but I've played OoT before, and I kind of want to try something new. The super oldschool games are playable too via download, but to be honest I don't think I'm quite ready to try them. It feels almost like they're extra-special, you know? Zelda I and II, at least. The games that started it all, wow.

Anyway, all this LoZ stuff has got me thinking about fanfiction. I don't have any really amazing original ideas or anything, but I got to thinking that maybe trying to write a short fic in this series would be a good way to practice writing action scenes. So it'd probably be slice-of-life stuff, except with more action than the phrase usually brings to mind, because a slice of Link's life usually involves going into the deepest darkest dungeons to battle monsters and rescue people, heh. And the nice thing is that I wouldn't need to get too realistic, just stay reasonable about it. I mean, the Master Sword shoots magic beams when you swing it, so it's not like I need to be... realistic. ;p

If I do anything, it'll be set specifically in A Link Between Worlds, since that game is very straightforward (and it's freshest in my mind. I mean, I barely remember ZOoT, if I'll be honest).

I'm definitely looking forward to having a more relaxed day tomorrow. I have roleplay tags that I need to catch up on, and some things I want to write, and some reading I need to do. My brother gave me Patrick O'Brian's Master and Commander. Fuck yeah, I've been wanting to read the Aubrey-Maturin novels for ages! And I have some other novels I've been meaning to get around to -- there are a lot of books that I have which I want to read, but haven't been reading because I mostly read on my commute, and since the morning is pitch black in the winter, I can't do that without turning on the overhead light, which I'm reluctant to do because the refinery buses are usually packed and it's 6 AM when we start the hour-ish-long drive so everyone around me is usually sleeping.
yuuago: (Frozen)
Finished a Finland/Sweden fic that I had in my WIP folder for about a year. Feels good. Well, I dumped it in my fic journal. It's a little more saccharine than I usually like but hey, at least I finished something.

Still working on my fic for that rarepair exchange. I had fully expected to be finished weeks ago, but uh, that just wasn't happening. HOWEVER. I do have a finished draft, and it's not too bad. Mostly I just need to poke at it to get the voices right. I'm going to try to do that tomorrow and see if I can get this nonsense out of the way so that I can concentrate on other things.

... Canon reviewing might help, I suppose, because part of my problem is "How the fuck do you write Netherlands". I actually received volumes 4 and 5 in the mail a couple of weeks ago, but haven't had a chance to crack them open. I probably should, since from what I remember the "Netherlands and Isolationist Japan" strip is in volume... 4? I think? And I remember that one being particularly good for getting a feel of his voice. (Which reminds me, I really need to write some NedPan some day. Such a cute pairing, geeze).

So, I kind of fell into the Zelda vortex and haven't been able to get out. ... In other words, I've been kind of glued to my 3DS, playing A Link Between Worlds. Other games have tempted me before, but this was the one that made me cave and buy it. NO REGRETS. I love it. I've been re-living some Zelda-related childhood nostalgia. Man, I'd forgotten how much I love the world of Hyrule. <3

The nice thing about this game is that it's really easy to do it in bits and pieces. That's great for me - otherwise I'd be stuck to it 24/7. And I've been playing it on the bus a lot, so being able to stop easily helps.

It kind of makes me want to take a look at the fandom again, but I don't think I'll do that until after I finish the game. I've already been spoiled for an important plot point, and while I generally don't mind, it would've been more fun if I'd discovered that thing myself. [/facepalm] But ah... Legend of Zelda was one of my first fandoms, except back then it was Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask. ... Come to think of it, I never did beat Majora's Mask. Maybe I should haul out the N64 and try. Or wait a while and see if it becomes available on 3DS. They already have OoT, so it would make sense to transfer over its sequel as well.

Anyway.

This time of year is so stressful and, to be honest, I am so ready for christmas to be over. Blech. Well, it won't be that long before I go back to work (January 2nd) so at least I won't have to put up with it for ages!

✿✿✿

Nov. 23rd, 2013 07:59 pm
yuuago: (BlackJack - So....)
✿ Ursula Vernon put out a short novel recently called Nine Goblins. I've been a fan of her art and comics for years, but never got around to reading any of her writing beyond snippets she'd posted in her journal. Well, this book is awesome. Awesome sense of humour, very light and entertaining. Rather Pratchett-esque. If you can drop the four bucks to read it, I suggest doing so. I just loved it.

✿ Went to see Thor 2 today. Found Loki more tolerable than the previous film. Found the movie entertaining in general. Also, Thor's hair is fabulous.

✿ It's been cold as fuck, and also very dark, and winter in general has left me wanting to crawl into a hole and hide. Non-social, in other words. It's annoying, because I do want to talk to people, but at the same time I just... don't. Typing anything takes effort. Blech. And it doesn't help that tiny things on the internet have been annoying me lately.

✿ The Nordic strip from vol6 was translated, and while it was cute and I love how they all look in the coloured artwork, I found myself feeling kind of uninterested with it. So many of their strips are "Nordic Meeting" kind of things, and while this one was a little bit different, it still feels kind of repetitive and bland. I want something more along the lines of the March Across the Belts strip, y'know, where something actually... happens. Though I feel a little silly saying that when really, since Himaruya's given us that strip, we've been spoiled already. (How often is it that he does awesome historical strips, really)

✿ Gave up on NaNo, heh. Even if I was doing it half-assed, I just can't do that much. But it was a learning experience - that is, NaNo, as in "write 50k in a month" (or even "work on 50k in a month, not necessarily brand new stuff) is not for me. I can't keep that pace up, I can't slam down 1.66k in a day. And that's okay. I did get a lot of stuff done, though, so it wasn't a total loss. I'm just feeling a little burnt out right now, so I'm going to set it aside for a while and do some other stuff.

✿ My Christmas shopping is still not finished yet, and it's seriously annoying. I had thought that I was done, but then some other stuff came up... and it turns out I still need to get some stuff for my dad, and something for my brother's girlfriend (??? I don't know why I'm supposed to get something for her, but mum is insisting that I should, so... uh. Well, okay!) It isn't a trouble to get those things really, it's just annoying that I have to when I thought I was done. What's worse, none of the things I have ordered have come in yet, so I've been doing the mailbox dance, ughhh. What I hate most is trying to come up with things for people to get me. Goddamn it, people, I gave you a list. "But it isn't long enough and all the stuff you have on it is boring" Well, get me gift cards, then. "But that doesn't take any effort" Christ on a cracker, I don't want any gifts to begin with! Can't we both just take the easy route here? Argh. Fuck gift-giving holidays, man.

(゚ー゚)

Nov. 9th, 2013 12:55 pm
yuuago: (Default)
Well. Watched the original Evil Dead last night. Didn't like it any better the remake. The first few bits were actually pretty good, but once things started actually moving, it took a nosedive into variations on "stupid" and "gross". Bah. Oh, well.

... Yeah, Halloween might be over, but clearly I'm not finished watching horror movies. :D I hope to watch some more this weekend; I have a few that I've been meaning to get around to, but hadn't. "The Omen" is one of them (yeah, I've never seen it). I have a lot of knitting that I need to do, and I must say, horror movies are great for that (though usually only ones that are in English) because I can kind of turn my brain off for it.

Took a break from writing last night, and now I'm behind schedule, blurgh. But that's okay. I'll catch up. Man, though... there is no way that I could ever do this "writing every day" thing outside of specifically challenging myself. I get so little time after work that really, there is no way to do it without cutting out time I would've used for something else. It's a real bummer.

Debating whether I should write another story for that Sve/Fin fest thing... I'm nearly finished working on the one I have now, but I'm not entirely happy with the story as concept. But I don't have any ideas for response to any of my other prompts, hmph. :T Well, I'll try thinking on it more.

A ton of snow got dumped on us last night. Originally, I'd been planning to go downtown today, but now it looks like it middle of winter out there and I just plain don't want to go out in it. (Not to mention, I have no idea where I put my winter boots. I'll have to look for them. But I am lazy.)

Ugh, I really should start my Christmas shopping soon. Well, I think I know what I'm getting everybody, but the process of actually getting it is a pain in the ass. And I kind of want to do the whole "sending Christmas cards to my friends" thing, since I didn't do it last year due to being too stressed out, but I don't think I'll have the energy to do 20+ cards like I've had to do some years... bah, we'll see, maybe I'll just send out a small handful. Or maybe none at all.

:|

Oct. 6th, 2013 11:49 am
yuuago: (Default)
I've been having one of those weekends where I find my family completely insufferable, but am unable to get away from them for the amount of time that it would take to stop them from annoying the fuck out of me. Of course I can't say "I find you all annoying as hell, so please leave me alone" so it's just a matter of time before I explode, probably. Unless I can manage to get out of the house somehow. Ugh.

It's about time to start Christmas shopping, unfortunately. Because there isn't any shopping in this town, I need to do most of it online, and because of shipping and whatnot it's best to start it in October. I really, really hate this stuff, though. Well, I hate Christmas in general, but the whole gift thing is the worst. I hate getting gifts, I hate giving gifts, I hate the whole "let's waste money on buying each other expensive things that we neither need nor want because we are obligated to do so". Just, ugh. Well, hopefully I'll get this all taken care of soon.

On a more positive note, I broke 14k on the fic I've been working on, which makes it undeniably my longest fic to date. Now, hopefully I'll be able to finish it, though that will take a while. It's very exciting, though - in some ways I'm in uncharted territory here. Writing something with 1. something resembling plot and 2. a lot of characters that I don't actually know how to write and 3. it's going to be very long. I just wish it had a more action-centric plot rather than a romance plot... but I'm still learning how to actually do long stories, so it's all right, I guess.

...Man, I had so many things that I wanted to talk about, but now I can't remember what any of them were. It doesn't help that I've been grumpy as hell all weekend. :|a

Well, okay

Dec. 23rd, 2012 10:14 am
yuuago: (BlackJack - Coffee)
Solstice came and went, but I didn't really observe it, because I was at work that day. What a bummer. This always happens, though. I should be used to it.

Everyone's in a panic to get things done... Gods, I'm going to be so happy when this Christmas bullshit is over. My family spends so much time worrying about being perfect that nobody actually takes a few minutes to relax and enjoy things, and it makes the entire thing really stressful and unpleasant.

It's -33C today and I was thinking about going out, but with it that cold, it definitely isn't happening. I think I'll just hole myself up in the house and whine about it. I definitely am ready for it to stop being chilly - but it'll get worse before it gets better.

I'm waiting for a box of yarn to come in. It's frustrating, argh, I want it to be here RIGHT NOW. But it isn't. ;p I've been knitting so much lately, and it's really great, but it's frustrating as hell realizing I don't quite have enough of whatever-it-is and need to wait for more. orz It should be here some time this week, though. I think. (I hope.)

Fandom-related: Haven't really had time for anything lately. Writing is at a standstill until I can find some peace and quiet (so... probably not until after Christmas is over). Indexing is on-and-off; it's easier to find time for that but the date-adding still is not done.

I'm thinking about running Nordipalooza again sometime in the spring, but I haven't decided yet. If I do, I might consider tweaking the format so that writing one short story is an option. And I'll definitely give a longer time period before posting opens + posting ends, so that people have more time to get things done.
yuuago: (Canada - Sightless)
So, since Canada Day is on a Sunday, I also get Monday off. Four-day weekend for me! Feels good, man. Don't really have anything planned for it, though. It might be the national day, but for our family it was always more focused on my gran, because it was also her birthday, and with her gone, it just isn't the same.

Argh, need to pound through this fic and get it done for the fest. I have until midnight tonight. LET'S SEE IF I CAN DO IT. (I know I can, it's just, man, I'm really not feeling it.)

Received the copy of Sabaton's Coat of Arms album in the mail yesterday. Oh man, it's awesome. A really well put-together album, yeah. Though I must say I think I prefer the Carolus Rex album instead. It's partly a matter of time and distance, though. I mean, the songs on Carolus Rex are all about the Swedish empire, whereas Coat of Arms deals with WWII... and to be honest, WWII is one of those subjects that, even though I find it really interesting, things related to it tend to make me feel uncomfortable (and sad, and disturbed, depending on specifics). So I probably won't be listening to this album as much as the other one, ah.

Though I must say I had a really pleasant surprise when I listened to "Aces in Exile" and realized that it mentions Canadian pilots in the Battle of Britain. *_* Maybe it's silly, but I get this incredible rush of happiness whenever I find music or literature that mentions Canada in some way and isn't by a Canadian. Probably just because it doesn't happen often. It's like, "Oh wow, someone remembered that Canada exists and decided to include it! Yay!" Pfft.

Fighter pilots in exile fly over foreign land
When the battle has been won, tell of 401
Fighter pilots from Canada in the Battle of Britain
Guarding the skies of the isle...!
<3 <3 <3

Hm, what else. Oh, I'm reading a book on the Spanish Influenza - (Alfred Crosby's America's Forgotten Pandemic: The Influenza of 1918) - and it's really fascinating. Obviously, very US-focused, so I'll have to see if there is another book with a more global scope, but anyway, it's good. Really readable. I've been meaning to read more about this subject ever since I first heard about it, so it's nice that I came across this one. It's kind of scary to think that something like that, which sounds like something out of the middle ages, could actually have happened in the 1900s. When I brought up the subject of the book, my mum started talking about how my great gran lived through that. It was back when she was still living in Poland/Ukraine. She claimed that she was able to survive because she always boiled her water before drinking it. That... probably didn't actually have much of an effect, heh. She was probably just lucky. But I guess back then, nothing was working, so you'd try any solution you could think of.

Ahhh, man. I'm getting so excited to go to Edmonton with my brother in July. Unfortunately it isn't until the 27th, so I get to squirm and fidget and anticipate it for a whole month, argh. It's just, I haven't been anywhere since that Europe trip I went on, and I haven't been to Edmonton in particular in years. The last time I can remember doing so was when I was 13. So... yeah, it'll be pretty exciting. I admit, I want to go shopping, heh. And it'll be nice to hang out with my brother. I find it kind of hard to talk to him when my parents are around, but when we're alone together, it's a little easier.
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 07:36 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios