Judo adventures - Class 70
Jun. 6th, 2023 10:40 pmAttending: Me, M, M2, E, Ke, aaand... a new guy! Let's call him MA. Sensei instructing, as usual.
Groundwork today.
We started with a simple sweep. Similar to one we did last groundwork class, but with variance. When you're in guard, pull your opponent in close; your right foot goes between your opponent's legs and gets behind the knee (on your right side/their left); your left leg serves as stability. And when you sweep, it should, theoretically, bring you into a good position for a pin.
I was partnered with MA, who was very helpful. Accidentally kneed him pretty hard on the first try, whoops - he was good natured about it though. Had a lot of tips (most of which I've forgotten). He noticed that my grip sucks and tried to give some suggestions; mainly that involved grabbing the gi and twisting the fabric a certain way to get a solid hold on it. I made an attempt, but I don't think any of it sank in - going to need to work on it more.
Uhhh what else did we do. Review of some of the guard passes from last groundwork class; nothing new there.
Also worked on an armbar - not sure we've done this particular one before. From guard, grab your opponent's arm (on your left side/their right side); bring it high and to centre of your chest, grip with both hands. Plant your left foot down and move - hips going toward right, head toward right, facing left; this brings you close to scoop the leg on your right side (their left) and use that as leverage to bring your left leg up on to the right side (their left) so you can link your own legs together. And from there, return your right grip to their arm, lift your hips, and twist if possible. Your opponent might roll over, and this is normal and possibly might give an opportunity to use leverage differently.
Anyway... this was interesting, but challenging. I had a hell of a time getting it to work properly. Part of it is needing to pull the arm in really close before you do anything else; if it isn't as far up as possible, it just won't work.
Randori after that; one round with MA, and one with M2. With MA, it was more like extended and more practical practice session. Very very helpful, though whether any of that will stick, I have no idea.
It wasn't until the end of the class that MA mentioned to me and Sensei that he's a black belt! Haaa, no wonder he seemed really experienced and had helpful advice... Apparently he hasn't done judo for several years and is hoping to get back into it. So, hopefully we'll see more of him. :D
Yuu. Fic writer & book lover. M/Canada.