☆ I wish the brightest, nicest, sunniest days were not the days when it is 25C or higher outside. I would love to go and spend my time wandering around in the sunshine, but when it gets to that point, I feel uncomfortably warm, and end up hiding away inside. That makes me feel a bit guilty. I spend so much of the winter saying "I'm sick of the COLD and the DARK and I just want some sun, damnit!" but then when I get it, I can't handre it. Geeze.
☆ My birthday is coming up in a few weeks (July 10th). I don't want it to come, argh. I'll be 25, and somehow, I just really do not want to be 25. It just seems like a big scary number. There's also the fact that I, uh, always kind of assumed I would be going somewhere in life by the time I reached this point. But, well, I'll try not to sulk about it. I won't make much celebration of it, but I do hope for some chocolate cake. :)a
☆ So, after finishing 1984, I've started on the collected volume of the Discworld graphic novels - The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic. I've heard that as adaptations they're only so-so, and that the art is inconsistent, and blah blah blah, but regardless, I've looked forward to it. Ever since I heard that there even were graphic novels (way back when), I've looked forward to it. I might have mentioned it before, but Colour of Magic is a novel that I'm extremely fond of - it was my first exposure to Discworld, and now that I think of it, probably my first exposure to the genre of satire, period. I'm extremely attached to it. So looking at it in another form should be fun. (And this reminds me I haven't seen the live-action adaptation yet... I really should get around to that. I did like the adaptation of Hogfather, even if it wasn't perfect. I remember people having various criticisms of CoM, but can't recall what they were... to be honest, I don't think I'll mind. I don't expect it to be exactly like the novel, and I don't expect it to be perfect, so I don't think I'll mind. And same goes for the graphic novel, of course.)
☆ I feel utterly unmotivated to do anything lately, and it's really starting to bother me. I've been reading a lot, and I've been working on that whole bit with the language-learning, but in spite of that I wonder if my brain is under-stimulated. I just feel no desire to do anything, and thinking seems difficult. Maybe it's just because the days have been so warm, or maybe it's because of the whole lacking a job thing, or maybe it's because every day is exactly the same, but it bothers me. I should be able to motivate myself to do the things that I enjoy, or at least things that need to be done, shouldn't I?
☆ My birthday is coming up in a few weeks (July 10th). I don't want it to come, argh. I'll be 25, and somehow, I just really do not want to be 25. It just seems like a big scary number. There's also the fact that I, uh, always kind of assumed I would be going somewhere in life by the time I reached this point. But, well, I'll try not to sulk about it. I won't make much celebration of it, but I do hope for some chocolate cake. :)a
☆ So, after finishing 1984, I've started on the collected volume of the Discworld graphic novels - The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic. I've heard that as adaptations they're only so-so, and that the art is inconsistent, and blah blah blah, but regardless, I've looked forward to it. Ever since I heard that there even were graphic novels (way back when), I've looked forward to it. I might have mentioned it before, but Colour of Magic is a novel that I'm extremely fond of - it was my first exposure to Discworld, and now that I think of it, probably my first exposure to the genre of satire, period. I'm extremely attached to it. So looking at it in another form should be fun. (And this reminds me I haven't seen the live-action adaptation yet... I really should get around to that. I did like the adaptation of Hogfather, even if it wasn't perfect. I remember people having various criticisms of CoM, but can't recall what they were... to be honest, I don't think I'll mind. I don't expect it to be exactly like the novel, and I don't expect it to be perfect, so I don't think I'll mind. And same goes for the graphic novel, of course.)
☆ I feel utterly unmotivated to do anything lately, and it's really starting to bother me. I've been reading a lot, and I've been working on that whole bit with the language-learning, but in spite of that I wonder if my brain is under-stimulated. I just feel no desire to do anything, and thinking seems difficult. Maybe it's just because the days have been so warm, or maybe it's because of the whole lacking a job thing, or maybe it's because every day is exactly the same, but it bothers me. I should be able to motivate myself to do the things that I enjoy, or at least things that need to be done, shouldn't I?
Yuu. Fic writer & book lover. M/Canada.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-23 09:10 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 03:11 pm (UTC)I'm probably a lucky person if my troubles in life are this sort -- That's a wonderful way of looking at it, and I think I will attempt to adopt this philosophy. :)a
no subject
Date: 2011-06-24 04:05 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 03:12 pm (UTC)HI TOMA HI.
[/hugs]
You feeling any better than when we talked a few days ago? I hope so.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 09:04 pm (UTC)I guess relatively yeah but I'm still really stressin'
/hughughug
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 01:22 pm (UTC)How did 1984 go for you? :)
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 03:39 pm (UTC)Re: 1984, it was... interesting. I enjoyed the first half of it, but the second half didn't appeal to me at all. Somehow I found the second half really dull and repetitive and, er. Boring. :Va It's very possible that it's just because I wasn't really in the mindset to appreciate a dystopia novel right now, or maybe it's just that I've read dystopias that I have found more interesting/more frightening... I dunno'.
I'm glad I read it, but I certainly wouldn't read it again, hah.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 04:57 pm (UTC)They say the second part was one of the most detailed and impressive descriptions of mind rape in the literature, but yeah, it was pretty exhausting to read. Maybe that's the point, of course...
Ah, care to list a few you liked? I really enjoy the genre, but so far has mostly read old classic stuff. It'd nice to see what it has developed into.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 05:18 pm (UTC)1. Aldous Huxley's Brave New World. You've probably read this one. I know a lot of people don't like it, but perhaps that's partly because people tend to have it shoved down their throats in high school (I, on the other hand, read it on my own, and enjoyed it immensely... and still do. It's one of those things I keep re-reading every now and then).
2. Margaret Atwood's Oryx and Crake. Written very recently, and I found it quite disturbing, though I have difficulty putting my finger on exactly why (there are, ah, a lot of things about it that could apply). I had to teach this one, back when I was doing that, and my students (first-year literature students) all enjoyed it as well, or at least found it interesting. There is a sequel to it, Year of the Flood, that I'm waiting to come out in cheap edition so that I can read it - I normally don't look into sequels unless I really enjoy something, so that might be an indicator of how much I liked this one. Atwood also wrote The Handmaid's Tale, which you've probably heard of. I didn't enjoy that one as much as Oryx and Crake, though. It was interesting, but I wouldn't read it again.
3. Alan Moore's V for Vendetta - the graphic novel, not the film, though I did enjoy the film as well. When they adapted the film from the graphic novel, quite a few changes were made, and at this point I look at them as two separate stories, in a way.
4. Lois Lowry's The Giver. Another classic, not sure if you'd have read this one. Don't be fooled by the fact that it's a young adult novel; it's a bit more simplified than the other stuff, but it's still a very enjoyable read. :Va
I've read others, but those are the ones that I've liked enough to read more than once. There are still others that I should read but haven't gotten around to yet - I haven't read Farenheit 451 for example - but, eh, I'll take my time in getting around to that.
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 06:14 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 06:44 pm (UTC)Though perhaps I'm not being fair, because I haven't read many of her novels. I dunno'. :Va
no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 07:32 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-06-25 09:09 pm (UTC)Oooh and congratulations in advance! <3
no subject
Date: 2011-06-26 05:44 pm (UTC)Also, thank you! <3
no subject
Date: 2011-06-26 05:46 pm (UTC)Indeed, we haven't! I don't get on AIM much nowadays because I'm lazy...
How've you been, dear?