WHAT IS SLEEP
Jan. 6th, 2010 03:48 amSoooo. Today was uneventful AGAIN. On the other hand, it was also the first day of school. EXCITING.
We spent the first half hour of class transcribing manuscripts. Ughhhh I've completely forgotten how to read gothic script! ... Not that I was ever good at it to begin with, but uh, eventually I ended up just writing things down even if it didn't make any sense. Oh, manuscripts, I love you, but I cannot read you.
Also had a doctor's appointment to finally get a look at the problem with my hand. ... Unfortunately, it seems like one of those things that will just go back to normal on its own, and I need to wait it out. Sigh. Squished nerve due to basically being chained to the computer for weeks. Lovely. Anyway, the doc wants me to get some x-rays done just to be sure. Urghhhhhl. I am not looking forward to that. Even going to the student clinic is hard from me on the best of days, but this is entirely different, and I am not looking forward to it.
Was going to go to the cinema tonight, but it ended up being like -30C and I just said, "Fuck that shit". Seriously. :| Maybe Wednesday night... or the night after. Sigh.
We spent the first half hour of class transcribing manuscripts. Ughhhh I've completely forgotten how to read gothic script! ... Not that I was ever good at it to begin with, but uh, eventually I ended up just writing things down even if it didn't make any sense. Oh, manuscripts, I love you, but I cannot read you.
Also had a doctor's appointment to finally get a look at the problem with my hand. ... Unfortunately, it seems like one of those things that will just go back to normal on its own, and I need to wait it out. Sigh. Squished nerve due to basically being chained to the computer for weeks. Lovely. Anyway, the doc wants me to get some x-rays done just to be sure. Urghhhhhl. I am not looking forward to that. Even going to the student clinic is hard from me on the best of days, but this is entirely different, and I am not looking forward to it.
Was going to go to the cinema tonight, but it ended up being like -30C and I just said, "Fuck that shit". Seriously. :| Maybe Wednesday night... or the night after. Sigh.
Yuu. Fic writer & book lover. M/Canada.
BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 04:24 pm (UTC)Be careful with your hand! Wear a brace if you need to or just to remind you not to use it much. I know someone with severe wrist/hand problems and the best advice is that if it's hurting quit using it for a while or it will come back to get you. Try to relax about the x-ray~
What movie were you going to see?
Re: BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 05:41 pm (UTC)And I kind of, you know. Can't stop using my hand. Considering it's my left hand. :| :| :| But I'm going to try to go easier on it.
Was probably going to see Princess and the Frog. Siiiigh
Re: BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 06:09 pm (UTC)I know you can't, but for what it's worth chicken peck at the computer and only write by hand when you absolutely have to. Or do it in slow amounts and take frequent breaks. :| Hand and wrist strain are very nasty bitches. :| :| Besides, a short green thing once said: "Do, or do not. There is no try." /preachyconcern
Mmm. I want to see that but can't muster the necessary energy to face the screaming children I know will be there. Just standing in the hallway near them when I went to see Sherlock Holmes was nearly catastrophic.
Re: BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 06:12 pm (UTC)Bad sleeping habits are bad but they don't matter as much when you only have one class per week.
Mostly I'm going to concentrate on better posture and such, because it's impossible to not use this hand. Using it less, sure. But not using it = no. My right is useless for everything. SO. :|
My plan of action re: the cinema would be to go to a late showing on a school night. By 9 PM the kiddies should mostly be in bed anyway, so it'd probably be mostly students at the showing.
... least, I would hope.
Re: BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 06:26 pm (UTC):| :| :| I will refrain from a long discourse on bad sleeping habits and overall health and anxiety issues, just know that I am frowning at your "don't matter as much statement". :| :| Only one class this semester?
Ah, for the movie that probably would be okay, but after seeing three movies over the break I've had quite enough of the theater for now. I like movies, but the theater severely stresses me out. Maybe when it hits the $2 theater.... that actually isn't $2 anymore, but there we go. Wait, I can't go late on a school night. I have an 8am class. OHSHIT. I keep forgetting that. It's descriptive inorganic chemistry too. *makes a face*
Re: BABY DON'T HURT ME
Date: 2010-01-06 06:38 pm (UTC)Ahhhhhh I see. Yeah, I can definitely understand avoiding cinema if you've had your fill of it. It's a nice treat, but going too much, it's not as much fun.
no subject
Date: 2010-01-07 09:17 am (UTC)