School and strange dreams, oh my
Sep. 18th, 2009 12:13 amThursday morning. Was exhausted. May the gods preserve me from these infernal early-morning classes. I would much rather be in bed at 9 AM - then again, who wouldn't, really.
I was watching La Grande Illusion last night and found that it was much better than I had expected. I must admit that I had expected something pretentious and artsy but it wasn't - it was very enjoyable. The last French film I'd seen before that one was The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, and that was not something that impressed me, to say the least.
The night before last I had a strange dream. It involved me and
nickelodeon running an elementary school full of weird little alien children. It was in some kind of open space with grassy floors and no ceiling. Nearby was some space that descended steeply toward a pool of water, and interspersed at intervals were large stone images of faces a la Easter Island that had been overturned and were now on their sides.
teruhiko was there, except that she looked like her personification of Ireland, and apparently these stone things had been created by her ancestors. She was doing an archaeological investigation and by that I mean she was crawling all over these things on the pretence of investigation and snooping around and occasionally coming to me to harass me for more notebook paper and pens.
And the dream I had last night involved me and
ninja_minni going on a series of adventures to fight crime and solve mysteries. There was some sort of magic involved - we had ballpoint pens that served as wands, and whatever we wrote or drew turned into a physical thing, though it didn't always turn out quite right. In spite of that, we were an excellent duo with very snazzy outfits. I distinctly recall that she was more clever than I was when it came to solving the mysteries, haaa. I was better at the ass-kicking part.
Anyway. Class this morning was... it was... well, it just was. Once again I find myself wishing I wasn't so slow-witted. The large class size for Film and Canlit makes it easier to hide that I frequently have nothing to say, but it makes it very difficult to get a word in edgewise when I do want to say something.
I think I need to put a pause on my writing projects, at least until the project on La Grande Illusion is finished. School takes time and all that. Ah, well. Hmm, after a conversation with Glitter last night I remembered that for a long while I've wanted to edit Small Hours/Starry Night. I think that if I take it in chunks I will have it finished by February. I was re-reading commentary on it, and there are calls for a third part but I really don't know - I have an idea for a short thing, but nothing very involved. Then again, maybe something plotty would not be necessary for this; just something short to wrap the entire situation up nicely.
I did work on some Est/Fin while on the bus home this morning. Gods, it was hot today... Normally I would walk home from school when the weather is good, but my backpack was heavy today and it was so warm that I just didn't. Geh. But nevertheless, I did write on the bus. I still have that old touch! This makes me happy. At least that is one way that I will get writing done, even when in school.
I was watching La Grande Illusion last night and found that it was much better than I had expected. I must admit that I had expected something pretentious and artsy but it wasn't - it was very enjoyable. The last French film I'd seen before that one was The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, and that was not something that impressed me, to say the least.
The night before last I had a strange dream. It involved me and
And the dream I had last night involved me and
Anyway. Class this morning was... it was... well, it just was. Once again I find myself wishing I wasn't so slow-witted. The large class size for Film and Canlit makes it easier to hide that I frequently have nothing to say, but it makes it very difficult to get a word in edgewise when I do want to say something.
I think I need to put a pause on my writing projects, at least until the project on La Grande Illusion is finished. School takes time and all that. Ah, well. Hmm, after a conversation with Glitter last night I remembered that for a long while I've wanted to edit Small Hours/Starry Night. I think that if I take it in chunks I will have it finished by February. I was re-reading commentary on it, and there are calls for a third part but I really don't know - I have an idea for a short thing, but nothing very involved. Then again, maybe something plotty would not be necessary for this; just something short to wrap the entire situation up nicely.
I did work on some Est/Fin while on the bus home this morning. Gods, it was hot today... Normally I would walk home from school when the weather is good, but my backpack was heavy today and it was so warm that I just didn't. Geh. But nevertheless, I did write on the bus. I still have that old touch! This makes me happy. At least that is one way that I will get writing done, even when in school.
Yuu. Fic writer & book lover. M/Canada.
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 12:05 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 02:52 pm (UTC)(Though really I can't handre children, man. They intimidate me or something. Give me whining undergrads any day.)
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 01:53 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 02:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 03:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 03:01 pm (UTC)Ee. I usually listen to heavier stuff but I love it. <3 Y'have good taste bro.
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 03:09 pm (UTC)it wasn't a dream. :|
Ahhh, and what kind of esti/fin story?
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 03:12 pm (UTC)Anyway. The story is very short, takes place shortly after independence, and... eh... there really isn't any plot; this is one of those things that's more about the atmosphere.
Might end up as a kink meme fill (there is a prompt that fits) but I'm not sure.
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 05:51 pm (UTC)Oh, so it's just some sort of fluff/reflection? I enjoy those kinds of pieces sometimes. They can be a nice read where you don't have to follow too much plot...
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 06:46 pm (UTC)And yeah, I guess you could put it that way. Sigh, it seems like that's all I write when it comes to these two, though. I find it very hard to come up with an actual story, and with the exception of the Eurovision fic, haven't really written any EstFin with anything resembling a plot at all.
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 07:09 pm (UTC)Also one time Mr. Bemis came to school and didn't even realize until our 3rd period class pointed out that yes, he was wearing two different loafers.
Ehhh, I feel like sometimes stories for this fandom can get hard to plot because you either go two ways: countries being countries or countries being themselves as characters and humans. The latter is personally my favorite and probably a bit easier to write, since it involves less strict research and isn't required to be totally logical in terms of, "Oh well they invaded and he felt this way". The latter involves more freedom with character exploration, so I like it best that way.
I think that might be what you tend to write--more character depth tinged with history rather than history-heavy fic that moreso relies of the events as a plot and has the characters come sort of secondary to that.
But plotting with just character exploration outside of drabbles and AUs gets hard with a "canon" like we have, where the "real" canon is comedy and the second canon we have (and are lucky to have since most fandoms don't) offers more of a premade canvas to slap your paint onto onto and less room for you to poke at the edges of canon, i.e. a lot of hypothetical stuff unless you're going super alternate history.
I think that's why I prefer AUs/drabbles/pwp--I've never been one for much plot.
...Damn I write essays on shit when I'm tired. How is this?
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 06:22 pm (UTC)And you're not slow-witted, the others are just inhumanly fast-witted
no subject
Date: 2009-09-18 07:00 pm (UTC)I like the way you think. I'll try to see it that way from now on. ;)
no subject
Date: 2009-09-19 10:46 am (UTC)From a Freudian point of view I'm a very, very sick person. But I guess that applies to more people.